The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Mayo

Only the briefest trips out - to fetch papers and and take along the recycling. A raw NE blow made the idea of doing a bit of gardening unappealing, so I just settled to sloth. Of course I intended to do worthy things but hey, I decided to cut myself some slack. The SK however did worthy things like make delicious egg mayo. 
And then we watched Italy v Scotland. How we bounded into the lead. They shouldn’t be in the same league as us, those Azzurri chaps, never mind the same park, I did think. And then, out of the blue (wearing white doesn’t suit us) the game just runs away from us. Until we’re well behind and then we have to actually start playing again. But too late. It’s baffling. We’re as mercurial as our skipper. I wanted to use that word. Mercurial. Doing a blip search I found I’d used it only once preciously on blip, in January 2018. I think its reuse is acceptable. Though I’ve never used capricious, I see. Whoops, I have noo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.