Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Winter is here at last!

Dull, chilly, breezy - not really tempted to go gardening today! Spent the morning sorting out stuff - piles of papers, Photo Club scoresheets, lists of places to see in London and much more.  I've just begun to read 'Georgian London - into the Streets', by Lucy Inglis, which for a London lover as I am, is really interesting. After the Great Fire of 1666 a vast rebuilding programme began and this book takes you through the years beyond and the foundations for the future. I'm going down after Easter and will have a long list of places I want to visit!

Went out for a wander after lunch, beginning with a look at the 'work' the council has been doing at McCaig's Tower, about which I shall say nothing, except of course, 'No comment', which says it all.

Did a quick circuit of the local roads, had a couple of chats with friends, and came back to take a few photographs on the deck. Among the plants I bought the other day was a potful of winter aconite, Eranthis hyemalis, my Blip today. I've never had any success with these, though I've planted a lot over the years - they have just faded away. They're supposed to prefer an alkaline soil, so once these are over I shall repot them with a touch of lime and await results. Does anyone else do well with them?

Random Quote of the Day - "It's exciting to have a real crisis on your hands, when you have spent half your political life dealing with humdrum issues like the environment.' Margaret Thatcher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.