I Witness

By KangaZu

Jacobsburg State Park ...

... first frog!

When we left the house today to go looking for the wood frogs at Jacobsburg it was nice and sunny!  But by the time we reached the park it had clouded over and got quite windy with a slight drizzle of rain. 

But we didn't let that stop us from still searching out the wood frogs in a vernal pool that's located shortly off one of the trails.   I think we may be a bit early as we didn't find any ... at least at this vernal pool anyway.

As we were leaving the park we decided to checkout the frog pond in the native plant garden.  And look what we found!  I'm having trouble with the exact ID for this frog but it's either a wood frog or a green frog.  My best guess is a wood frog as they are the first amphibians to emerge in the Spring.  Please take a look full screen.

As we were there photographing this cutie it started raining and then hailing!  In fact you can just make out a hail stone on his/her back and one hitting the water just above my signature.  

And as I'm posting this the sun is back out ... although starting to set!  Crazy, crazy weather today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.