SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

Beach Collage with Stag

I decided to spend the evening collaging, originally wanting to have a May Day theme. I drew a stag from a Muybridge photo to cut out of an old map, but couldn't find much in the way of foliage, so the landscape turned into a mostly barren beach of a tropical island mixed with the Norfolk Broads. I know that there aren't any significant rocks in the area, so it's very much an imaginary setting... The shape of the tree is inspired by a Mughal botanical painting.

I love the photo I chose for the distance. It of a sailboat in East Anglia, taken by Peter Henry Emersen in 1886 and entitled "The Old Order and The New". In his photographs he aimed for a faithfulness to nature, but the scene has a timeless atmosphere that seems rare in real life. Maybe that's just a feature of the Broads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.