Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Gifts

Yesterday was Mother's Day here in the UK. For lots of reasons it can be a tricky day for people. I didn't mention it yesterday and anyway the day, for us, was about the five year old's birthday tea party. 

However I was given some gifts by my three adult children. They know me well - tulips, bird seed and organic pest control. Seriously, just what I wanted. To be fair there were some further treats but these gifts make me happy. 

The birthday tea was great fun. We had lovely food made by my son and a cake made by his partner, the girls' mum. The cousins had fun together. Our grandson protested a bit at leaving with us rather than his mum and dad but soon cheered up when he saw that I'd brought with me a children's book about the human brain. This led to the usual deeply philosophical questions such as, "how big is life?"

He slept very well and in fact is still snoozing as I blip but he'll be awake soon and I'll be busy for the rest of the day.  Wonder what we'll get up to?

I shall be thinking of my former colleagues  at the funeral of blipper Old Bat this morning and of Old Bat herself. I'm sorry I won't be there to say farewell. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.