Katoomba Cascades

See LARGE.

The Katoomba Cascades trickle down a wonderful broad rocky slope spreading the flow of water across a wide area. Having reached the bottom, the water re-converges to form a credible stream which babbles its way toward the actual 150 metre Katoomba Falls. I'd love to go down to shoot it, in all its present vigour, but the mud and slush would defeat me I fear. Besides, the rain continues except for short breaks and I'd probably get drenched into the bargain.

This picture shows the less voluminous right fork which often hardly runs at all except when we get persistent rain. I must admit I have not seen this side of the Cascades show quite so much flow before. I have shot the much stronger left fork previously, but here IT IS as it looked this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.