Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

‘Why are you wearing a lampshade, Archie?

No, it wasn't a restful night. Archie was running around for most of it, but without the frantic shaking and floor scrabbling, so we both managed at least forty winks. 

He refused to walk out again this morning, and later in the morning I took him out, but he just sat down and we had to come home. It's still painful to walk, because of his wound. But in the afternoon, he was keen to go out, and wanted to go round the Links. A couple of big dogs came to ask him what was wrong. I couldn't hear his answer.

I've listened to two ABC Podcasts today, both brought me to tears (so just as well I wasn't out walking). One was called 'Nancy's muster dog, Mate'. Just wonderful story telling of one woman's extraordinary life. and her most amazing intelligent working dog. 

The other was called 'The Toilet Warrior' about a man who dedicated his life to raising money to build toilets in schools in India, after meeting a couple of young men who showed him around their slum area. He met the school teacher, who travelled two hours to school and two hours home again. When she got home, she had a big drink of water. She did not drink at all during the day, as there was no toilet - it's very unsafe for girls and women to go and find a secluded spot to do their business. And when she had her period, she had to stay home. No school. So the village mothers had to stay at home to look after the kids, and so lost pay. This affected him so much, he raised the £1,000 to build a toilet for the school. And his project just gathered momentum from there.

PS After the ridiculous fuss about the Wales’ family photo today,, I feel I should own up to some photoshopping here. I removed the rubbish on the path, I also removed the owner’s legs, and I may have added a couple more daffs…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.