Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Emergency Vet!!!

The pills to settle Archie last night didn't work very well. He was awake most of the night, I'm sure. I had my ear plugs in, so dozed fitfully, but the manic shaking and scrabbling was not as bad as other nights.

He was very distressed this morning, JR had to carry him back in from the corner, he refused to walk further. But he had a toddle round the back garden with me in my dressing gown. Eventually he had the longest ever piddle. He followed me around the house, even coming into the bathroom while I had a quick shower. Then he settled with me on the sofa while I watched the rugby. He's been mostly settled all day, with only a couple of sessions of manic scratching, licking, frantic running here and there. He's now on JR's lap, panting. This is new. Also new, and rather more worrying, is that the wound is beginning to smell... that really panicked us. 

And so (gulp) I rang the 24 hour emergency vet (which is based at our vet practice anyway) and we took him up at 7pm. He's due his post-op check tomorrow morning, so they're going to count this as the free post-op one. How magnanimous! And the vet was very charming - he was gentle with Archie, telling him constantly what a good boy he was. Two antibiotic injections, and then he cleaned the wound which was oozing a bit. It's in such an awkward position, but it should start to clear up in a couple of days. Here's JR, vet assistant, holding Archie up while the vet puts some cream on the wound. He was so good. (Archie AND the vet).

Watched the France/Wales game today - another great game, full of terrific running rugby, and I was rather sorry that Wales didn't win, as they've had such bad luck of late. But really, its what makes the whole Six Nations competition so good - anybody can beat anybody on the day.

Hopefully a peaceful night... have I said that before?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.