JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Mothers' Day

J painted a card for me with S on Friday morning - a misty watercolour bluebell wood - lovely! They hid it in a drawer to which she could direct me on Sunday morning. She also encouraged me to choose some chocolate with the supermarket order, but I declined: I've not long finished my Valentine's chocolates, and endless strings of supermarket emails remind me of all the things I could buy to mark the next "special" day. Nothing now escapes being transformed into an opportunity for another marketing frenzy, more of the excessive consumerism which is endangering and destroying our world. J and I did enjoy making and eating some cupcakes though, little chocolate butterfly cakes to decorate with leftover frosting and cream from her birthday cake. Apart from that, it was a low key date, damp and gloomy; we were glad we'd had our outing yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.