Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Short Eared Owl #37

Backblip

After what was a huge error in judgement resulting in a bit of a wasted morning at Hoylake, we ended up at Parkgate after the high tide was over and done with. We didn't think that the tide would reach the wall at Parkgate because of the complete lack of wind and opted for Hoylake instead, but there were so few birds about I thought a huge flock of peregrines must have flown by and scared everything away! 

Anyway, a handful of Brent Geese were going to be my blip today, until we arrived at Denhall Quay after a late lunch. Within 5 minutes we had seen our first Shortie, within 10 Minutes there were 3 of them quartering the marsh and then a quick tussle with a Hen Harrier - I was in heaven! If only the light were better(it was REALLY grey and dark), if only they would come closer(so small in the frame even a humungous crop wouldn't have worked) and if only my camera would focus on them properly(I was being a bit of a numpty and the contrast on the bird was very poor so it wasn't able to really pick them up)......
There was plenty of action, but I was not happy with any of my shots. 
However, eventually we had the odd fly-by from an owl a bit closer in and finally I was managing to capture some reasonable images even if the ISO was too high. They seem to be cleaning up OK - more in extras. 

We headed up the road towards Burton Point and came across Simon King and his massive camera on a tripod. He'd been in the area since 6am and said it was definitely worth the visit for the owls, harriers and they'd also seen a bittern at Parkgate at the tide came in. Nice to chat to him for a couple of minutes, but I got the distinct impression he wanted to be left alone, which is fair enough. 

All too soon we had to head back home as I needed to get back for camera club. I was itching to download my images, but we got stuck in some traffic on the motorway and didn't get back until nearly 6.30pm.
The speaker I had arranged, Steve Proctor, was fabulous - great images, great story-telling and a thoroughly lovely man. Of course, it was about shooting nature and everyone enjoyed it immensely, so much so that we will almost certainly ask him back next season for another talk on Sports and Dance photography. 

By the time I got home last night I was shattered but just had the energy to download my shots and pick out a few to edit. As the weather is due to be raining all day, I know what I will be doing :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.