Bleary eyed

I woke up this morning intending on going to the beach and it looked like the weather could go either way. I waiting a while and the sun broke through so we packed up some lunches, our beach chairs and umbrella and off we went. Friends and family met up at our usual spot, which is what I picture in my Blip today.
For the last few weeks that we have gone to the beach, it has been a little cooler than we would have liked it to be. Everywhere else, including the towns surrounding the beach, is hot, humid and without a breeze. However, you step onto the sand of the beach and it is like entering another world. Breezy and cool with some impressively rough waves. The winds are relentlessly coming from the south and if you need shade (which I do) and are under the umbrella, it is downright cold! It's almost July! What is going on? We are usually swimming in the water and appreciating the break from the sun under the umbrella. Today we not only put the umbrella down we were wrapped up in our towels. Normally you could not even walk on the sand without shoes unless you want to do the run/hop/run to the boardwalk or risk burning the bottoms of your feet it is so hot. It has really been a strange summer so far.
On top of the cooler than expected day, one of my contact lenses was giving me a problem and my eye kept tearing and burning until I couldn't take it anymore and just ditched the contact lens into the wind. Did I bring a spare pair? Nope. Did I bring my glasses? Nope. Therefore, I spent the rest of the day only being able to see out of one eye, which made me feel lopsided. I tried just keeping one eye shut but it did not really help. My sister stood up at one point and said, "Shopping?" There is a little boutique on the boardwalk that has some nice beachwear. She ended up convincing me to get this nice cotton gauze pants and top. From what I could see of it, I liked it! We walked back to the beach and she said, "Now you just need some sandals to go with that." She used the phone to go online to Zappos (great place to buy shoes). Within minutes, she found what I was looking for and had them ordered and shipped to my house. Between the glare of light at the beach and my only being able to see out of one eye, I had to come home and go on my computer to see my new shoes. Thankfully, they are perfect and I cannot wait to get them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.