Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Early morning at the market

You can just see Canigou in the background with the sun shining on it. In the summer, the trees will provide deep shade. I was down at the market at a little before 8.30 and at that time it is reasonably quiet. My shopping bag was almost too heavy to carry back to the car as it was filled with so many fresh fruits and vegetables. I think the full list today was kale, lambs lettuce, spinach, Swiss chard, potatoes, fennel, courgette, squash, aubergine, sweet potato, avocados, carrots, onions, celery, pears and apples. I didn’t get broccoli, beans, cauliflower, oranges or fresh dates this week. There are so many good things on the market that I have to be disciplined in only buying the things I know we will use during the week. The tennis coach did not turn up today as he was ill, but there were four of us, so we just played doubles. I went straight on to French conversation and sat out in the sunshine for a pleasant hour and a half.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.