The Kiltwalk

By thekiltwalk

Neither by Fate, Nor by Chance

In case you haven't realised, I've a love of converse. It dates back to my teenage years when all I ever wore were my Red converse or Doc Martin's with my red laces and when I say wear, I mean with everything, everywhere!!

If it was a warm, sunny day, then it would be converses with my shorts, which were cut off jeans and even they had holes.

To be honest I was never a fan of the sun when I was younger as I was peely wally and desperately skinny, the latter being a problem that sadly I've over come.

The tattoo is something I decided a few years ago. It was probably a mid life crisis thing, however when I was looking for ideas for my design I was looking for something to encapsulate "Oor Rutherford Family Tree" but didn't want a tree obviously.

So I came up with the idea of a Thistle and my daughter, Zoey, drew the image you see as the finished article. I wasn't letting her lose with anything other than a biro and went to a great wee Tattoo joint on Argyle Street at the bottom of Byres Road.

Oor Family Motto, The Rutherford one as opposed to our specifically :-) is "Nec sorte, nec fato" which translates as "Neither by Chance or by Fate" and for the eagle eyed amongst you, you'll notice I got it badly wrong :-(

However I decided, well I had no choice did I, that I like my interpretation better.

Anyway getting back to today's theme which is Converse, not my inability to get myself tattooed correctly, is that I really fancy a pair of Kiltwalk Tartan ones.

I'm sure you used to be able to design your own ones, at a premium price of course, and when I get back home I'm going to research it as I think they'd be totally cool.

Anyway Kiltwalkers, the sun, the pool and my ipod are calling so catch you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.