Ropes & Rocks

Main Blip:
Polytrich pilferim (Bristly haircap moss)
Extra collage:
Baoemyces rufus (Brown beret lichen) on left - not a good photo of the fruiting bodies (mini mushrooms) but a first for me
Alpine blood spot on right
Second extra:
Cladonia pixidata (Pixie cups) - not unusual but so beautiful

Today was a movement on steep ground and rope work refresher day. Why? Because my ML qualification needs renewing in terms of being accepted for use in Girlguiding and I can’t in all good conscience submit my log book for re-approval if I know I’m not ‘current’. My lack of practice wouldn’t have been immediately apparent and it’s not even a requirement (although a certain number of QMD’s, cpd and use of qualification on Girlguiding events is), but that’s just me. I like to do things properly. And so it was that I had my nose to the rock and my eyes fell upon some of the macro beauty in this world.

There was also time for some discussion about my volunteering for Scouting and Girlguiding, why I do it, whether it’s valued or not, what the personal risks are (both in terms of working relationships and in light of recent court cases) and whether I should continue. I will continue of course, but there will be some considered change.

And, as an added bonus I realised that Jopplety How, where Itth had suggested we go, is literally right next to Brund Fell, better known as Grange Fell - a Wainwright! Just a little one, at 416m and less than 2km and 150m ascent from the car park at Watandlath, but another one to rub off the scratch map nonetheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.