StephenF

By StephenF

Fen raft spider

I had a busy day today. I was due to have lunch with a former work colleague at the Skylon restaurant at the Royal Festival Hall but she texted earlier to say she had a migraine, so we cancelled. This means that my explanation of the restaurant's name (clue: Festival of Britain 1951) will have to wait. So my lunch was a sandwich from Sainsbury's which I ate on the train to London for a meeting at the NHS England offices in Wellington House at 3pm. The building is opposite Waterloo Green where, before heading off to my next meeting at the Rolls Building, I spotted this sculpture of a fen raft spider. This spider species was apparently common in the marshy areas bordering  the River Thames - the road running alongside Waterloo Green is called Lower Marsh. It's a striking piece of public art. The second meeting was our new Chair's first and it went very well. Tomorrow, I will write up the minutes. Over 10,000 steps clocked up today - a rare achievement which I should aim for most days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.