LesTension

By LesTension

LOOKING FOR BREAKFAST

Red-tailed Hawk (Buteo jamaicensis) is the most common raptor we have in our area.  They are year-round residents.
~
I'm extremely please with this shot.  This bird is at least 500 yards (450+m) away which is more than a quarter mile distant.  The morning sun just lit him up with a distant silo in the background furnishing some contrasting color.  Hand held...shooting out of the car window.  Using the Nikon Z9 and 600mm Nikkor lens w/1.4x tele extender which yields 840mm.  Then I switched to DX mode which adds another 50% of the focal length so the final image was shot at 1260mm effective.......HAND HELD!  Good thing I had some coffee for breakfast to steady my hands.
~
I cropped the shot about 50% of the field and did a little sharpening but just a touch.  I'm very pleased with the results of this glass combination.
~
REALLY IS BEST IN LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.