Boomerang

By Boomerang

Figlets

Friends gave us a small fig tree in a pot in the summer of 2022 but I neglected to take it indoors during the following winter. Feeling sad about my lack of care for the plant, I was sure it was destined for the compost heap in spring 2023,  until Nick spotted some tiny green buds. Seeing that both me and the plant seemed to have been given a second chance, we repotted the fig, gave it a feed and a bit more care. These tiny figs began to develop during the summer but I had no expectation that they would mature. In the autumn I brought the wee tree into the sunroom to overwinter and now it is rewarding me by bursting into life again. I wonder if last year’s figs will continue to grow? I doubt it, but time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.