Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

New project on the Sn3 layout

I started today on this building kit.  It is a general store that actually stands in Wyoming, but it is similar to many structures from that are around Colorado - so in my world it would fit fine in Dolores CO and may have actually done so.

The kit was from Riggs...to Riches before they retired.  A shame as his kits are excellent.  The directions are a book, with many tips.  On previous kits I made of his kits I followed the directions very carefully, read them several times, then got to work.  This way I had no problems.  I am a slow learner some times.

This General Store is a great building.  Many additions and lots going on.  As part of an extra, I bought a large bag of metal cast details to paint and set out.  The blip shows many of these items on the blip.  The extra photo shows what the back will look like.  A detail - the real building still stands in Wyoming and is in a dark red.  I much prefer the flat white on the kit brochure so that is my paint color as it really shows off the building details..

So since I have the N scale track cleaned and all the wheels of the "modern" locos are running fine, I am ready to get back to the Sn3 layout.  I have saved this kit for years and it is the last new building to build on that layout.  There are two foam core stand-in buildings at the rear of the layout and I will scratch build those after the general store is done - WAY easier.

PS if you would like to see what a master of railroad kits and Sn3 model railroading here is a 3 year old website from the kit maker.  He is a fantastic modeler and a nice guy to boot.  http://www.raggstoriches.biz/RAGGSRAILROAD.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.