Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Union Pacific 4014 in N Scale

I ordered this locomotive long ago and it finally arrived.  It is a N Scale Kato model of the Big Boy - Union Pacific # 4014.  The model is perfect to my eye, and the sound decoder uses sounds recorded from the real thing. What fun.  

It will pull my current day tour passenger train (also Kato) that UP goes around with in the summer.  When I run in 1950 version with my steam version, it will be pulling freight.  The model has two electric motors so will pull a bunch.  

It was my 79th birthday present.

My wife and I stood near the tracks in Wyoming on May of 2019 when the 4014 was making its first run.  When that puppy came by at full chat and blowing the steam whistle, it was awesome.  It brings tears to you eyes.  One cannot grasp the size until you see it rumbling down the tracks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.