Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Heavy Going

We are in the middle of Cheltenham race week and the going must be heavy with all the rain we have had down. The going is rough too driving into town and you really have to choose your moment unless of course you are unfortunate enough to have yet another appointment.

Yesterday I had planned a free afternoon of camera but on reaching the optician and a big eye exam she decided she wanted me back again that day and then another today. I am not quibbling as my eye issue needs resolving.

A mid-morning appointment meant I hit some of the race goer traffic and weaving my way through Cheltenham I suddenly realised I was under dressed - very under dressed. Teetering from a pub  and nearly under my car was a barbie pink vision. A blonde in heels and minuscule skirt ( or maybe that was her underwear - not sure) and top, sporting makeup that would have done an Essex girl proud. Coming to a halt like the rest of the drinkers on the pavement at 10am  I stopped to let her weave over the road in front of me. Will she even make the races? Will she survive till this evening - who knows? 

Even trying to negotiate the Promenade was tricky  as buses were disgorging people in their hundreds.

The races are such a fun time. Cheltenham needs the revenue and the bars and restaurants  are full of happy people - with the occasional one crying into his beer but for the most part everyone having a good time. 

I didn't post yesterday as I was in the opticians twice which took up nearly all day and by the time I'd finished I'd had enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.