Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A day in the garden

Today we had a well needed day in the garden.  Lots of dead foliage cut back, plants pruned and borders tidied.  We have a water feature that kept stopping because the pump got clogged up; I cleaned the reservoir out and refilled it with fresh water and then removed the two ornamental grasses nearby that were causing the problem.  The brown bin is now full to bursting and it doesn't get collected for another 13 days so we'll just have to hold off before we do much more.

And what has the picture got to do with any of that, I hear you say?  Well nothing really, but short of a blip I noticed that today is Pi (pie) day.  It only really works in America where they insist on writing the date the wrong way round so whilst here it's 14th March or 14.3, over there it's 3.14.  I rather suspect we default to different pies too; pie in the US probably means apple whilst here it's steak and kidney.  I'm sure everyone will have their favourite though, and I'm rather looking forward to trying a mutton balti pie that I saw recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.