Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The amaryllis season

Our amaryllis season is slowly coming to an end. We have one more to flower after this red beauty. This one put up two flower stems at the same time and the flowers are fighting for space since they are all at the same height.

Thank you for all your lovely comments yesterday. 

When I phoned this morning I heard that Mum had a comfortable night. I did wonder.

Liz took me in this afternoon. Mum did not know us. She could not speak and she looked very poorly. She had had a second CT scan of her brain during the night because she was so unresponsive, but it showed nothing new. (A comfortable night then?!)

I saw a lovely junior doctor, who wanted to ask all sorts of questions I'd been asked yesterday. Yet again, was there a DNR in place. (Yet again yes.) She said the information had not been passed on. She also wanted me to know that the consultant thought that Mum was unlikely to survive her injuries.

I managed to get some pain relief for her in the form of a paracetamol drip because she was not taking anything by mouth.

I suggested a syringe driver but the nurse gave that a big NO. I might ask again tomorrow.

Mum was transferred to Hexham Hospital this evening. I could not get through to the ward by phone, so Liz and I went on spec. The hospital was locked down for the night but Yang (the hospital cat) was still in the foyer. See extra.

Mum was more awake and knew me, I think. She was now in her own nightie. She was in a lot of pain. Again I was seeking people to provide pain relief.

She is under the care of a consultant who I know from the years I worked at the hospital (although I was in a condemned portacabin for my department!). I will go in the morning so I can see him and hopefully sort out the pain relief. Sigh. It's hard work.

We will see what tomorrow brings. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.