Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Removing the Ivy

I did some work indoors during the morning and then watched the F1 Qualifying from Silverstone. Afterwards I did some weeding in one of the borders, but it was rather hot, not that I am complaining, so I gave up.

Mr A on the other hand did a lot of work in one of our other borders and I did some of the clearing up for him. Then he took a lot of ivy off of the trunk of one of our apple trees. The people who lived here before liked Ivy and planted a lot of it; some thirty years later we are still fighting a losing battle in trying to get rid of it; the biggest problem is that it kills any plant it takes a hold of including fully grown apple trees.

Today's picture showing Mr A, amongst the Rose of Sharon plant, which surrounds this tree, hacking off the Ivy, sometimes using an axe to get it off; so far he has cleared the Ivy from the lower trunk all the way around the tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.