Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Alnwick Abstract

The opera must have been too exciting for me as I didn’t fall asleep till sometime around 2am and was awake again at 3, 5 and 7.30 so I was feeling like I had a hangover this morning. Despite having only water to drink.

However I’d promised Jenny a trip to Alnwick garden before the rain started. It was really quiet with not much to see apart from a couple of camellias and lots of neatly trimmed hedges. We did spot some daffs and scillas and hellebores. I took her round the walled garden and the water features - I took our photo in one which is the blip. It was nice to wander though Jenny got tired so we headed back to the car park which is a walk of around a third of a mile. It worked out well as we were back to the car just as the rain started.

After lunch she went to have a rest so I researched flights etc for our proposed trip to Vienna. Although Ryan Air flies from Edinburgh the return flights leave Vienna at 6am so Jenny isn’t up for that. Now I’ll look at other options. She’s already said no to the train as she can’t sleep on a train so it might be overnighting in London. I anyone has been please let me know how you worked it out!

I made a nice chick pea and potato chaat with date and tamarind dressing which we had with Hill Station salad for supper.

We had a look at some old DVDs and Jenny had chosen “The Sting” to watch tonight as she likes Robert Redford.

Ella goes on her school ski trip tomorrow to Les Menuires. She’s staying in the Skilt where we used to stay with all the school parties. Apparently this is its last year as a cheap school hostel type place. It will be refurbished and turned into a smart hotel. I’m surprised this hadn’t happened already as it is a prime position right by all the lifts.

Nathaniel is coming to us after drama as he’s playing rugby in Alnwick.

#2 daughter has gone to Edinburgh to meet uni pals as one of them is 50 soon. While waiting for them to arrive from London she wandered into an art gallery and picked up a glass of wine on entering. She’s so jammy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.