While on my runs

By waipushrink

Crocheted Wharenui Harikoa (House of joy)

This morning we looked at a special exhibition in the Waikato Museum; the Wharenui Harikoa (House of Joy) made of crocheted coloured wool. The artists created wall panels, poles, roof and floor. Indeed everything was made by crocheting wool. Afterwards we had lunch in a nearby Bistro. As well as S and our grand-daughter, we had been joined by my niece, and her three daughters plus one grandchild. After lunch we three headed home on excellent roads.

After a short rest I went for a brisk walk with my camera. I disturbed a bird in a tree close to the path I was on. It flew rapidly over to a tall tree. I had not recognised the bird from its flight pattern. It was larger than many of the common birds.

When looking at my photo of it, I realiised that the flight pattern was distinctly that of an Eastern rosella. There was no call as it flew, whereas that has often been the indicator for identification by me.

Postscript:: I reminded myself of the actual name of this Whare, and its meaning. Correction now made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.