Slow progress

I hesitated over the word progress, as that implies getting somewhere. In the year I have been working at this Community Mental Health Centre, not very much change can be seen. It cannot be seen in this photo, but the pedestrian bridge over the railway lines is open and provides a safe way to access the other side, whichever side one is starting from.

Talk on National Radio this afternoon touched on the great construction record of the Ministry of Works. It began in the late 19th Century and was dismantled in the late 1980s. If we still had that, there would be skilled workers and resources to spare in managing the rebuild after the effects of Cyclone Gabrielle, and the rain river that preceded it.

The white building houses the community mental health team I am part of. I cannot access it directly from where I took this photo, needing to do a fairly big loop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.