David J. Rose

By djrose007

FLASH - AAAAHHAAAA

"Saviour of the Universe"!
Apart from wanting to be a cowboy when I grew up I'd have loved to be a space hero, like Flash Gordon.
You can still watch Flash on a Saturday Morning on Freeview channel 82, 'Talking Pictures', if you are in the UK of course. They have a 'Saturday Matinee' morning, a throw-back to the 1950's when cinemas had Saturday Matinee's for children. I think it cost sixpence to get in but our neighbour was an usher so we used to get in free!
It appears to be a bit basic regarding the rocket ships, costumes, and sets but bear in mind these were first made in the 1930's. I used to listen to Flash Gordon on the radio at my Grandmothers, in the early 1950's. She never had a TV, not ever, even up to the day she died in 1981, but maybe that's one of the reasons I used to love going there, listening to the radio, which I prefer even now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.