Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Fresco Art

In West Jefferson, North Carolina are two small one room churches that are known for famous frescoes.  I found out that a fresco is art painted on wet plaster.  (Maybe like DaVinci did?)   This artist was Ben Long who completed these two frescoes in the 1980s.   I can tell you that I had the hair stand up on the back of my neck when I saw them.   

Photos do not do justice to the scope of this work.  Both smaill churches had stained glass windows so that was the only light coming in except for small overhead spotlights.  

I  am amazed at the life-like renditions of the people and the artist's depiction of a pregnant Mary and John the Baptist on the side panels.    Notice the robe on the ground.

In the extra,  notice the bowl and that dog.   Someone walking away, the woman and child.   The artist makes it all so real.    I thought that dog was going to get up and meet us!   The depth of field and 3D quality was beyond anything I know how to describe.    You had to see it in person.

Sometimes art is beyond words as is the stories it tells.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.