Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Excitement Builds

It is always so interesting to me to observe the changes in bird behavior as the breeding season draws near.  The little band of 9 Tufted Titmice that has gotten on so well together all winter are now showing signs of annoyance with one another.  This one has raised the feathers on its back and throat as well as the namesake head tuft in an effort to (I guess) scare a rival titmouse away.  From a human standpoint, it is hard to take this seriously although I am guessing from a titmouse standpoint, it's fearsome.

Its been another beautiful day and we've enjoyed quite a bit out outdoor time.  Jax is starting to calm down after this week's bear sighting so he was snoozing while I was pottering around.  While I was out, I watched a pair of bluebirds going in and out of two of my nest boxes; the male singing his lovely ethereal song.  I am optimistic that we'll have at least one clutch of bluebirds this spring/summer.  

I am also thrilled that the pair of Hairy Woodpeckers who've been around all winter seem to have settled in permanently.  It's been quite a few years since I've had nesting Hairies so I'm quite happy.  The last pair, who raised several broods in our woods, were taken out within a month of each other by a hungry hawk, and it's taken 3 years for another pair to find us.  Although Hair woodpeckers are not rare, they are far less common, and far more shy than the similar looking Downy Woodpeckers.  They also defend a larger territory.  

The high today was only 57, but the sun made it feel warmer.  A little too cool for arthropods, however.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.