ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

The Scarecrow

After two nights on the trot sitting in theatres, I felt the need to get some fresh air today. I went to the gym before lunch, but still had enough energy to fancy a walk this afternoon. I had some things to drop off at a shop in town and decided I’d take the long way home to try and clock up 5km in total.
Passing by the riverside allotments, I noticed this impressive scarecrow, and I can state that it definitively “does what it says on the tin.” No crows to be seen on this particular plot - no birds of any description in fact! But, less than ten feet away, I counted a good half dozen crows wandering around on a neighbouring plot that had no scarecrow protection at all! Nitpickers may say that the lack of crows on the first plot was down to the fact that I was standing there taking photos, but I prefer my version of events!
Naturally - this being Kendal - rain was a constant threat and, somewhat predictably, it started when I was farthest away from home! More intermittent drizzle than a constant downpour though, so not too bad really. And I couldn’t help but feel a little bit smug when the heavens did actually open ten minutes after I returned home.
Definitely good to get out in the open. It’s fun going to the big city, but I do feel quite claustrophobic amongst the crowds and tall buildings. I guess I’m just a country boy at heart!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.