ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Mixer

When I played in the band, we used a digital mixer as that was the only way of getting enough inputs and outputs for a six piece set-up without carting around something the size - and weight - of an aircraft carrier flight deck!
But the big drawback was that it was controlled via a tablet/smartphone or laptop. Great that you could adjust so many parameters, but an absolute pain in the proverbial if the connection dropped out. Which it frequently did, even when using a dedicated router and Ethernet cable.
As Stuart and I don’t need that many channels for what we’re planning on doing, we thought we’d go old school analogue. I found one that looked perfect on eBay and it arrived just as we were going away for a couple of days so I’ve only just got round to unpacking it. Looks to be all there and nothing obviously amiss, but final judgement will have to wait until tomorrow when I’m taking it to Barrow so we can set it up and check everything works as it should.
If all is good then I might even buy a case for it. I need a couple of things for a little project anyway, which I’m looking to order online, and if I got the case as well the order would qualify for free shipping.
Let’s see how it sounds tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.