Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Lucky 13?

I am getting quite addicted to this cycling lark. After about three years of zero activity/exercise I am really wanting to make up for it.

As there seems to have been a huge improvement in my cardiovascular reaction over the last week, I stepped up the distance this evening and went up to just under 14.5 miles. I took on some of the route from that 50k ride I have signed up for (it goes within a half mile of my house luckily) and it was interesting to ride on roads that I have driven on for years - I am certainly seeing some sections in a different light.

Of course, I have a gadget with me on the bike: a Garmin GPS I used to use for Geocaching. It uploads the trip data to the Garmin Connect site and does some whizzy analysis. Seems that on my last three rides I am averaging 13mph - I have no idea if this is OK for my level of fitness on the Peak District terrain????

Oh, and I also bought some scales this afternoon. Although I was only going for the old-school needle style, I ended up being tempted by a £15 one that measures your BMI, fat %age and water %age (by sending an electric current through your body!). I put in my height, age and got onto it and it snorted and shouted out, "BELLY!!!". Bloody technology

This is me one minute after my return, shot care of Mrs H.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.