Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Pot on a pole

Dry and dull today, no wind.  Indoor stuff this morning, Photo Club, u3a, usual computer things.

After lunch I went out for a walk - I'm glad I didn't agree to the 6 mile walk proposed by Daughter One as my hip and leg wouldn't have coped! Just around the local roads, not quite down to sea level! Stopped for a chat with my neighbour Margaret, out tidying her garden.

Back mid-afternoon and spent an hour or so in the garden, mostly potting up and top-dressing pots. I had a nice potful of the hardy-ish bromeliad, Billbergia nutans, and I split that into three. The one I planted on top of a tree fern trunk last summer has come through the winter with some damage, but I think it will be OK. I must try to plant one in a tree, which is where they usually grow back home in South America.

My Blip today is of the pot which sits on a pole which marks the edge of my garden, on the roadside. I usually change the planting a couple of times a year.

Random Quote of the Day: 'I believe we should all pay our tax bill with a smile. I tried - but they wanted cash'. - Anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.