Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Brisket

Today, we experienced the delight of Famous Dave's, a place I have only walked past until now! Thanks to movies like "Chef" and food shows, I've been wanting to eat Texas brisket for the longest time. I hadn't realised I could do this without travelling to Texas, so as soon as I found a place that doesn't charge an arm and a leg (why are steaks so expensive??), G & I headed to DFC.

The restaurant is huge, and it was good to see other diners there (it's unpredictable during Ramadan). The waitress talked us through the menu, and then, not too long later - ta da - the food arrived. We had four pieces of brisket with mashed potato, corn and broccoli. It wasn't quite what I was hoping for, but after being slow-cooked for 12 hours, the meat was extremely tender and melt-in-your-mouth! So now I have tried it. :)

We moved on to Laduree for dessert and coffee. It's another place I've wanted to check out after watching a line of locals queue to get into their branch at Dubai Mall. Happy to say we didn't have to queue in Festival City, and we had the place to ourselves, thanks to Ramadan and people not going out to eat until Iftar.

We then drove to the other side of town to ascertain the location of a French restaurant G had driven past. I crashed when I got home, whilst G went to the service in the evening. The ironing I began in the morning continued while she was away. It has mounted up to over 5 hours worth, and I only managed 3 hours today. :(

I have to record G spent the morning in the kitchen rearranging the fridge, as she's now got transparent containers that keep fruit and vegetables fresh for longer. She said she'd give me a conducted tour when she stopped long enough to catch her breath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.