Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Parade

Today was "Old Home Day" where my small town celebrates well, just being a small town. The Distracted Hausfrau blipped about preparations for the event yesterday. The entire celebration is very kid oriented and we had a great day full of events. Some of the highlights for the TMG family were the parade, the frog jumping contest and the tour of the police station. We also ran into The Distracted Hausfrau and spent some quality time with the DH family. (Thanks for hanging out DH family!)

I chose this photo because it is a typical parade scene with a twist. We see a guy (a shriner?) riding in a miniature small car and throwing candy. The funny thing is that the driver saw me aiming the camera at him and decided to counter-attack. Yes, that silly grin he is wearing is because he was just about to throw that handful of candy at me! I took the softly thrown projectiles right in the chops. (Of course the little ones surrounding me loved the sudden abundance of sugar laced items.) It was all quite funny and I was particularly pleased that I captured him right before the assault.

For me this, shot is more about the moment than photography excellence. I love the silly grin and how you can see the handful of candy ready to be tossed. I like how the hand is slightly blurred showing the motion and how you can see the candy falling out of his grasp.


Photoshop:
Minor brightness tweak

Constructive criticism always welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.