Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Still Life*

The festivities have drawn to a close and Matt is on his way home. I will miss them but am so delighted that they could all be here pitching in to make some memorable meals and some good memories. My only regret is that due to not sleeping well, I tend to turn into a pumpkin at about 8pm.

The most amazing gift of all was...a Peloton!...a real one! from Jim and Dana and Matt. It will be delivered next week, just about the time I will be ready to start riding it. 

for last night's fiesta, the troops did a barbecued mixed grill with sausages from the Farmers' Market, potato salad, green salad and all the trimmings. Since Jim was in charge of the provisions we have enough food left over to feed us for a week.The final course was a chocolate cake with mocha cream frosting and walnuts. Once again, Dana dived into my past and pulled out this recipe which I think I made for the first time for my father for his birthday. It was all delicious, enhanced by beautiful weather and the best company I could have asked for.

One of the things on my pre-surgery checklist was to replace my favorite pair of sneakers. I never did get around to it and decided that today was the day. Dana and Matt joined John and me and we went to the shoe store. As luck would have it, they sold out of the black sneakers with white soles but they had the same ones with black soles and I decided it wouldn't pay to put off buying them again. John wanted to go to the outdoor store to get himself a new pair of gardening shoes, so we all trooped over there where I  bought myself a new Patagonia jacket.

Properly outfitted for winter, just as spring and warmer weather are fast approaching, we came home for a meal of leftover chicken and potato salad before I had to bid farewell to Matt and John took him to the airport.

Time now for a nap, something I never was able to do but have now come to appreciate....

*An orchid from Kathy, a torn paper collage of the little town of Waternish on the Isle of Skye, a glass apple and a purrple yoga strap, currently in use as a torture exercise assist. I liked the rays of sunlight sneaking through the  bliinds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.