WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

UFO

... well, I think it's a kestrel, from my distant, underside-only view and Google Lens. A pair were swooping round the château just behind our house for an hour this evening -- I heard them, then spotted them when I went to take the washing in. It was quite a display of aerobatics. I spent about half an hour trying to photograph them. Sheol needn't look to his laurels -- too far, too fast to focus on them with my inadequate technique and limited equipment. I only got a shot this good because I nipped indoors to get the other lens.

Other wildlife present: Mystère's "friend" (extra 1). He's always hated other cats, so I'm surprised that I often find them sitting just metres apart in a "frenemy" pose. Even more surprising given that this is definitely a tomcat. But not a particularly aggressive one (yet. It's early days).

Made a loaf today for the first time in months. It came out OK, and since I had the starter out and it was bubbling, I started another one. It's been another lovely spring day. In other news, municipal worker D, after his success with the olive tree, pruned the flowering plum outside our kitchen window (extra 2). It's a pleasure to see someone enjoying his job so much. Of course he has to do other tasks, but the horticultural aspects are clearly his passion and the environment is looking better as a result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.