Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Nighttime in the Alley

Did not do very much today at all. Stayed in doors all day. Watched TV on my computer and on actual TV. Slept. Ate a little. Then continued job hunting a bit. Took this photo last minute. It is of our alley where all the cars reach their garages.

___
I have come to the conclusion that finding a job in the current economical times of the United States is rather difficult. So in order for me to become a happily employed person, I have decided that I want to teach English abroad. My main prospective countries of destination are: China, Japan, and South Korea. Why Asia and not in France? I want to connect with my Asian side (despite me not having Chinese, Japanese, or Korean descent). I want to experience a different way of living, one separate from a set Western of ideology. I figure these countries are perfect places to go. They are up and coming countries and their economies are growing rapidly. Therefore, in order to remain competitive on a global scale, several teach abroad programs need English teachers to teach Asians English.

I would like to teach English in the Philippines, where I came to exist, but demand for English teachers is not high as one of the official languages of the country is English. The population is already knowledgeable in English and there is already a pool of teachers they can hire to be English teachers. Anyway, I'll do some research in programs in the Philippines and see what happens.

So a little reflection about my stay in Bordeaux. I have developed a sense of being adventurous with, of course, limits. I have always had interests in learning about cultures through language and because of my study abroad program I have learned that it is really fun learn a foreign culture by interacting and living with the people. Although I am rather timid and shy at times, I have found out that I am capable of so much if I put my mind to it. The whole process of going abroad was a challenge in itself, but I kept myself on track and motivated. I had the desire to go abroad and the only thing that could stop myself was me. At any moment, I could have said to myself that this whole study abroad thing is crazy and that I would be putting myself into a strange land with so many unfamiliar things. Of course, those things ran through my head all the time, but I had to challenge myself. In order to grow one needs to challenge oneself. And I did just that, I kept pushing myself and by doing so, I have learned that I am capable of so much. The only person that can stop yourself from growing is yourself.

BACKBLIPPED:
Thursday, June 15, 2009
Friday, June 26, 2009

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.