ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Who's who

My journey to London on the sleeper was taken in the aid of being in Oxford by about 10am, which I duly managed. I had to buy a new ticket for the London to Oxford leg, as the ticket I had taken out of the machine in Waverley a couple of weeks ago is locked in - guess where - my flat in Edinburgh. But that was fine, and apparently my colleague reclaimed most of the other ticket, minus a service charge.

The conference I was at was fun. Not a huge amount of cutting edge intellectual content, but the celebration of an academic life well lived, by someone whom I've known for decades (and we actually studied at the same time in Cambridge, but we didn't know each other then). You can read about him here. My piece is here, but unfortunately it's not freely accessible. He had a hip replacement only 10 days ago, and so was doing fantastically well to be up and about and at the conference for a lot of the day and well into the evening. In fact, I flaked before he did, given I've not had a lot of sleep in the last wee while, and often it hasn't been good sleep. It was a bit of a who's who in EU law at the conference, and it was fun to catch up with quite a few old buddies, and meet some new people. It was a good day.

Elsewhere, no progress. It's too depressing and infuriating for words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.