Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Almost Spring

After last night's rain, I was surprised to see the morning gradually clear before I was even out of my bed (I was doing Italian - my excuse!) and by and large it's stayed that way; there's a slightly hazy moon tonight. Because it was Tuesday, with the resulting odd meal times, we went for a walk after coffee, starting on the shore road through Innellan. That's where the photo was taken, shortly after we'd left the car, looking south to the village centre with its shop (The Lido - you can just make out its blue frontage on the white building on the right: a community enterprise shop, selling just about everything and keen on local stuff). We climbed up behind the village and walked on south on the hillside road that eventually turns into a rough track, and although we started and ended in warm sunshine we hit the only rain we saw all day just before we emerged from among the houses, and had to shelter under some trees till it stopped as we weren't dressed for rain. 

Other than that, the day was routine - no lunch, but an early dinner, a chance to sit and do nothing, then out to choir. Two members were elsewhere tonight, but it was an excellent rehearsal. I was particularly pleased to be able even at the end of the practice to sing middle C in what I think of as my head voice as opposed to one that comes from much lower down, like my speaking voice (the one pop singers use for "belting"). One legacy of all the hymn recording Himself and I did during lockdown for the online services is that my lower register was neglected because I was singing tunes - and at my age I can't really afford to neglect it!

I've just been reading blipper Sally's account of a funeral I'd have loved to have been at, of a friend we first met in 1973 and encountered on and off over the years through a mutual friend, then through Cursillo, then on Fahrts (these school trips for oldies!). Friends keep leaving us these days. Rest in peace, Alex, and rise in glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.