Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Magic

Keen to avoid travelling in rush hour, by 17.20 I was standing outside the London Coliseum in eager anticipation of tonight's ENO performance of the Magic Flute (my favourite opera) having left Robin doing some High Street shopping in Chelmsford. Being an hour and half early, I strolled down to Trafalgar Square, took a few photos and then found a corner seat in Pret a Manger where I lingered over a salad until it was time to join the throng in the theatre foyer.

Mozart of course, always sublime, was superbly performed - no surprises there - but I haven't seen this production before. The ingenious set, lighting, injection of wit and amusing updates for a modern audience, made a performance that had my full and complete attention.  I think Mozart would have liked it too!
(ENO production info  here)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.