Seriously?

By MerrilHope

The use of life

"Life is a great gift and as we reach years of discretion, most of us naturally ask ourselves what should be the main object of our existence"  
- John Lubbock, 1st Baron Avebury

Woke up to sunshine . Real, full on where-are-my-sunglasses sunshine. It was so warm and sunny that I consider it worthy of mention that for the first time in 2024, neither Robin nor I wore our jackets when walking the dog! I know, amazing, right? 

Now you might think that this amazingness of weather was the main news of the day - but you would be wrong, so do please read on. 

After some light refreshments for everyone (including dandelions for Tortie) while sitting in the garden enjoying the sunshine ... we (Robin, Rufus and I) drove the 10 or 12 miles to Battlesbridge Antique Centre where our primary target was 'Jim's Books' - the antique book shop.  Robin was in English literature teacher heaven, Rufus was a bit bored tbh but perfectly behaved (and enjoyed walking around the grounds) and I was happy to find a slim volume of Rupert Brooke's poetry, published in 1942, with the handwritten inscription: "Hoping that you will love these as much as I do" signed Gwenda. Well, in addition to whoever you originally wrote that for Gwenda, your little gift will now be loved by me.   

Our trip to the centre concluded,  walking back to the parked car we passed a beautifully colourful stall of garden flowers planted tubs - and so bought and managed to fit four of them in to my car, which will brighten the garden almost as much as the sunshine.

Back home by late afternoon, we unpacked and drank tea while reading our new treasures. An absolute gem of a find for Robin was "The Use of Life" by Lord Avebury (pub 1902) and led to much Googling about both the man and his books.. Fascinating - John Lubbock, 1st Baron Avebury, (30 April 1834 – 28 May 1913). 

Now you might think that this amazingness of delightful finds was the main news of the day - but you would be wrong, so do please read on. 

All this excitement and we were now hungry so I suggested going to the Fox and Raven.  I haven't been there since it reopened having closed in 2022 for refurbishment. The magnificent magnolia is in full bloom - last Blipped in 2015 (here). Walking inside I looked around at the new decor, and then noticed three folk having an early dinner together and thought how very much one of them looked like a good friend, Paul, from many years ago - Ralph's best friend and our best man in 1983. The resemblance was uncanny - but Paul lives in France now.  I called Ralph. "Where's Paul?" I asked. "In Chelmsford" came Ralph's reply "having dinner in a restaurant with his son and daughter-in-law".   So I went to their table and said hello.......and the years rolled back

You couldn't make it up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.