ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Wanderings

The last few days have given me just the vaguest insight into what it must be like to be houseless. It's very stressful having to think about where you might go next or what you might do next because you have no home to go to. And I can see the end of this, and it will hopefully be Thursday....For those who are truly houseless it must be an extremely stressful existence. It's definitely got worse as the week as gone on, as I've gradually run out of clean clothes with no clear and obvious means of sorting out clean ones (yes, RB, I know you have a washing machine, but it's different, isn't it? And you want to stay "portable", in case there is suddenly the option of getting back in the flat).

Substantive progress today, however, with the surveyor signing off on the building being safe and a positive plan for trades to come into the building on Thursday morning with entry in prospect from the afternoon.

But at the same time, I felt truly awful most of the day. Really sore glands and stiff neck. Wheezing like a steam engine. Zero energy for walking or doing much at all. I still didn't sleep that well, although obviously better than the previous two nights. Both trouble getting to sleep and trouble staying asleep. After a fairly busy but not too stressful day (starting with breakfast in Kilimanjaro), including an afternoon Townhall event for the whole school which I was not leading, but which was surprisingly well attended, I headed over to have a glass of wine with LMcA in the institute I used to lead. Always a trip down memory lane. I picked up some snacks in the supermarket on the way back, but found myself falling asleep by about 7.30pm. I let it happen.

The blip is hipster Edinburgh. There's a new hipster coffee shop due on South College Street to replace the old hipster coffee shop (Brew Lab) which suddenly closed at the end of February. And more hipster street art down by the institute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.