Look Out

By chrisf

Rock Face

Departure from Holly today. It’s certainly been an eventful week. Despite my sadness at J not being here, my cold, and a redundant fridge freezer - I’ve enjoyed my visit. I’ll be back soon.

Having greeted me on my arrival, Phil Pheasant made sure to see me off (extra). The large triangular limestone rock at the corner of our plot is a definitive marker of our position. It was going to be my blip image.

However, I decided to leave via Warton Crag Quarry, a local nature reserve - the limestone Crag is the highest point in the local area. I only called in briefly. Two volunteers were on watch, and helpfully pointed out a peregrine falcon sitting motionless nearly at the top of the rock face. I wouldn’t have spotted it without their assistance. They’re still uncertain about where the nest might be - either that, or they are under instruction to keep that information secret, which would be fair enough. They also pointed out a large ravens nest. The most vocal birds on the cliff face were the many jackdaws. The sheer cliff face looks heavily fractured, and would I guess be quite a challenge to climb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.