MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Blossom, buses, bits and bobs.

The flowering cherries in Hall Street, St Helens, today. 
I woke in the middle of the night, wide awake and after less than 3 hours of sleep. Could not get back to sleep. Why? I went for a toilet trip and tried again - still awake 2 hours and 40 minutes later, having tried the inhaler (bit of a cough) and the gaviscon (in case it was reflux). I felt too tired to get up. Next thing I woke up and it seemed that I might have managed another 2 hours kip. Still felt very tired but had to get up as things to do. A cup of coffee revived me a lot as did the cold air outside.
I'd put the clothes in the washing machine on the strength of the forecast of a fine day but it started raining so I abandoned the wash! Wise decision as it chucked down not long after.
I dropped my car off for its MOT and had a mooch in a couple of shops in town - bought a newspaper and a new leather handbag (Terry asked me how many bags I need but you can never have too many ha ha, you can't take it with you and I've nowt much to spend my pensions on nowadays) before going to the bus station to get the 89 bus home. It came and it went without passengers as it had an oil leak. I got the #10 and walked from Prescot Rd home, in the pouring rain, with no brolly!
This afternoon I went to get the 89 bus to go for my car and I checked the app - cancelled! I set off walking from Upland Rd, along Broadway in order to get to Prescot Rd for another bus (#10) only to see the 89 going down Upland Road! Aaaaargh. Was this the cancelled one or the earlier one running late?
At Prescot Rd, even before reaching it, actually, I realised my mistake as Carmel College pupil were swarming the streets and many of them needing a bus to town. I had an idea....walk down Prescot Rd past the traffic lights and at the next stop I would be able to catch a 10A which was not passing the college so should have lots of room - or I might be lucky and an 89 would show (huh).
I walked there and guess what - so had a number of college students and more were following me! No matter, there was room on the 10A for us all.
My car was ready, it had passed its MOT, there were no advisories and there was no charge (free MOT for having bought my car there). This made up for the poor bus experiences.
Received my echocardiogram appointment this afternoon and it's on April 12th.
Terry has been trotting about at home quite a bit and he reckons he is coming shopping with me tomorrow, using one crutch! I keep finding him walking without any crutches but I think he will need one for his first supermarket trip on the new hip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.