Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Bulfinch

I went to the nature reserve at Rutland Water today to have a look around and visit the Osprey observatory. I had a really nice day and there is so much to see there. The bird life is really varied and I saw swans, ducks, waders, a hobby and woodland birds. I also saw some hares, rabbits and dragonflys. The best bit was seeing the Osprey nest with 3 chicks, and I saw both the male and female adults.

The Osprey nest was a bit too far away for really good shots with my camera, so this is a photo of a Bulfinch, which is the first time i have seen one of these and it was perched on a fence at the edge of one of the wildflower meadows.

You can see some of my other photos including some of the Ospreys here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.