Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

Train Challenge No 7

Underneath the Prince of Wales Bridge, looking across to Wales - Severn Beach

Today I went to the beach! The River Severn has one of the largest tidal ranges in the world, and we arrived at low tide. Back in the 1920s and 1930s Severn Beach was a very popular seaside resort but little remains of its heyday. My BC friend was very sceptical when I suggested today’s destination but, even though we only had an hour and a half there, she agreed Severn Beach made an interesting outing, with time to follow the riverside path, enjoy some sea air, and grab some lunch at a lovely little tea shop. Lots of different views in extras.

I’ll never understand rail fares. With my rail card, the 12min return train journey from my local station to Bristol cost £3.30, whereas the 1hr 22min return journey from Bristol to Severn Beach cost just £2!

Train journey time = 1h 34mins
Waiting between trains time = 46mins
Total journey time = 2h 20mins

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.