LIFE!!!

By greengirl

Op day

This is our local hospital, Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary, opened in 2018 with 344 beds. Instead of wards, there are single rooms, to maximise privacy and minimise infection.

I drove D there this morning for his hip replacement surgery. There was no problem finding a parking space at 7.30am. I wasn’t allowed to stay with him so I came home, did some cleaning and took Jess for a walk. The op was scheduled for 11.30 so to take my mind off it, I went to an aqua class and had a sauna, then came home and did a lot more housework.

It was 4pm by the time I heard from D. He had just returned to his room from Recovery. I went to pick up Joe and we drove to the hospital to find D in good spirits. We had a group video call with Sarah and Luke (and Otter and Merry!).

Jess and I have had our tea and I’ve watched some of the film “Finch” starring Tom Hanks. I think I shall probably have an early night :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.