SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

The Pall Bearer

I was oil painting a self-portrait, but feel more comfortable uploading my doodle from the day. I took a break to go to a talk by graphic artist Greg Stobbs. Most of his work isn't really something that appeals to me, but it was interesting to hear about his processes, such as playing with collage to create a mock-up image to scale up to mural size.

I like the boundlessness of creativity spreading to different surfaces too: not just canvas or paper but anything you can reach. I might try making some irregular shaped boxes so that I can decorate them in a responsive way.

I saw this man (or someone similar) sitting in a hearse. He was with three other identically dressed men, so I think he was a pall bearer. There's something fascinating about that job, and something striking about this particular man's appearance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.