Capital adventures

By marchmont

Out west - again

A day through to the west to see Y before they go off to Majorca on Sunday. But first a swim and some sad news. One of our morning group, M, she of the seahorse style, died on Monday, v suddenly of leukaemia. Early 60's. So sad. Spoke to her friend C, who is mid 80's and still going strong. 

Swithered about taking the bus but decided on the train and being early took the Helensburgh one. Many stops and views of rural central Scotland. It's the route I used when I was a Games volunteer. 

Eventually made it to Queen St in the middle of what felt like a sleet shower. It was freezing and I got soaked. If I'd taken the bus I'd have changed buses in the bus station. 

The sun was out by the time I got to Strathbungo and the birds looked they were enjoying the water in Queen's Park. Had a glass of fizz with Y before we walked up to Lobo for tapas and chat. Back for more fizz and coffee. G couldn't golf today, course shut, and they are looking after R who's just had her tonsils out. E came by to pick her up as I was leaving. 

The train home was a better call than the bus and I'd have been home earlier if it hadn't been for my stupid mistake with a bus stop and a #31 at Haymarket. 

Read the news about P of W on way home. V sad. Hope she's ok and that it puts to rest the ridiculous conspiracy theories.

Fed the cats, 2 + 1 and sat with mine on my knee watching some of GW before bed. Really tired. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.